Six Word Memoirs

 

Via The Lettered Cottage

In the 1920s, Ernest Hemingway’s colleagues bet him ten dollars that he couldn’t write a complete story in just six words. He wrote: “For Sale: baby shoes, never worn.” He won the bet; and started a literary trend.

I’ve been pondering this one for a while, but the words just aren’t coming. The task is a bit too daunting, especially for a terminally-ill verbal diarrheaose (the spellcheck tells me it’s not a word?) like me. I mean, six words? To sum yourself up? Who would want to fit into 6 words? Surely I’m a bit more complex than that.

And yet you read them all over the internet, and they’re quietly powerful. They say everything they have to say, the six word memoirs. So I’ll share some of the most beautiful ones I’ve read lately, and I’ll wait until I’m a bit more mature, a bit more figured out, a bit more well-read – until the words have flowed out of me enough that I can sum myself up in six little words.

Some from famous people…

I loved, I mothered, I wrote.
Susan Cain, author of Quiet

Seeking The Fullest Expression Of Self.
Oprah Winfrey

Couldn’t Cope So I Wrote Songs.
Aimee Mann

What Once Were Two, Are One.
George Saunders

…Some from slightly less so:

Still Fit Into High School Earrings
Kimberley Kilroy, 53

Life Gives Lemons But No Juicer
Jordan Miller, 22

Loving Heart For Sale. Like New.
Ariel Faulkner, 25

Mission Accomplished – But Will Consider Reincarnation.
Alexandra Liosatos, 51

I Still Make Coffee For Two.
Zac Nelson, 27

Catholic School Backfired. Sin Is In!
Nikki Beland

Leave a Reply

